Health/Natural beauty Recipes

Homemade Face Lotion

by Christiana

DSC_0145

The reasons:

I have very sensitive skin. So when a friend offered me her homemade face lotion, I wasn’t so sure.  I’ve spent years very carefully following my dermatologist’s advice on what lotions, shampoos, soaps and face creams to use to combat my issues with rosacea and other skin irritations.

But my friend’s lotion was great. I used her lotion for a month to make sure my skin would take it.  And when it did, I decided to make my own.

She also got me thinking that what we put on our skin can be absorbed into our bodies. This has become more important to me as I think about my long-term health and about what to use on my children’s skin. When my four-year old had red itchy patches on her hands, I used this lotion and it went away within a few days. I’ve also started using baking soda instead of shampoo…really, it’s a thing.  My face lotion is inspired by A Sonoma Garden’s recipe (visit the site for her recipe and a few more pictures of the recipe process…my process looked nearly identical). It has only three ingredients and I’ve been using it for two months with nary a breakout or flareup.

The ingredients (a few notes):

1. Coconut Oil: Has been used for many generations by as a natural sunscreen. Because it is “naturally antibacterial, antifungal, moisturizing,” it can be used not only for lotions but for cleansers and deep-conditioners.

2. Beeswax: Is a natural moisturizing alternative to store-bought lotions. Some websites warn that beeswax can clog pores, especially if you’re acne prone.  I haven’t had a problem but most of my skin issues don’t count as acne.  So if this is the case for you, try a small batch first or use water-based lotions.

3. Grapeseed oil: Has Vitamins E, D and C. It’s an “anti-inflammatory antioxidant[s] known to retard the aging process and prevent acne outbreaks” that is used in many cosmetic products.  My skin tends to be dry and this lotion is pretty greasy.  But if you have oily skin, you might still be able to use it.  According to my reading, grapeseed oil can actually be good for oily skin too. “The last thing you want to do with oily skin is dry it out. In fact, that oiliness is a reaction of skin that is too dry. Grape seed oil is light to the touch and never leaves skin feeling heavy with oil. Instead, it effectively moisturizes the skin, balancing both dry and oily patches.” Read more here: http://www.livestrong.com/article/255779-what-are-the-benefits-of-using-grape-seed-oil-on-the-face/#ixzz2NBcP7gO2

Grapeseed oil can also be applied directly to your face and in fact, I’ve started using a dime-sized amount mixed with water as a face wash every evening.  It even takes off my makeup.

The cash:

I bought the beeswax pastilles cheaply online and I got the oils at a local health food store. Ask the folks at your store what kind of oil is best for the face (and read more here about the difference between food-grade and cosmetic-grade oils). The oils were more expensive than I preferred but I have enough for several more batches, lasting me about a year (though they can probably be purchased much more cheaply online or at the grocery store).  All in all, I have homemade lotion for a year for under $40.

DSC_0135

The face lotion recipe:

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 cup grapeseed oil

1/2 cup beeswax pastilles

Combine all three ingredients in a pint jar (or another container you want to store it in…one that can take heat). Place the jar in a saucepan and fill the saucepan with water 3/4 of the way up the sides of the jar. Place the pan on the stove on low heat until the beeswax melts. Stir until the ingredients are combined. Keep stirring every 15-30 minutes (I used a small wisk but a fork is fine) until the mixture is cooled.

Store in the pint jar with a lid.

DSC_0149

This pint jar of lotion has lasted me two months so far and I believe it will last at least another two.  I use it twice a day on my face and hands and occasionally on my children.

Enjoy!

DSC_0003Christiana is the manager of this collaborative blog. She has postgrad degrees in theology and creative writing from St Andrews University in Scotland. She lives with her family in intentional Christian community in rural Illinois. While her husband farm manages, she writes, sings, gardens, cares for their two kiddos, cooks, preserves food and attempts to homemake. She also blogs at thebeautyofthishour.wordpress.com.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Face Lotion

  1. Pingback: A Renew Review | Renew and Sustain

  2. Thank you! Finally a recipe that seems do-able, and I can trust to put on myself, as well as my two sweet blessings!

Leave a Reply

