Health/Natural beauty Recipes / Wise Woman Wednesday

Wise Woman Wednesday #2: Five Minute Lip Gloss

by Angela

I can’t lie; I’m addicted to lip gloss. When I first began speaking to others about the benefits of going natural when it comes to skin care, I knew eventually what came out of my mouth would soon need to be put on it. But I wasn’t crazy about any of the natural/organic lip glosses I had tried, so I began a search for natural lip gloss. One of my favorite homemade lip gloss recipes is a modification from The Handbook of Vintage Remedies, by herbalist Jessie Hawkins.
Basic Recipe: 
1 t beeswax (I prefer yellow pellets)
1 T coconut butter
1 T coconut oil
1/2 t castor oil (optional)
Essential oil for flavor: I like sweet orange, cinnamon, or mint.
lipgloss
Instructions: 
Place the oils and beeswax into a small, clean glass jar and heat over a double boiler until the beeswax is melted. (You can also zap it in the microwave for about 1 minute 45 seconds.) Stir to combine. Stir in 6 or 8 drops of your essential oil (if you use cinnamon, go easy – it can burn a bit if you go overboard). Pour into containers. Wait for the lip gloss to solidify! The lip gloss mixture will be ready to pour in about five minutes from start to finish if you use the microwave method to heat the oils. It then takes about 20 minutes to be firm enough for use. That’s it!
liquidlipgloss
Liquid state, with essential oils. Ready to pour!
firstpoured
Just poured!
30minutes-1
Firm enough now!
 
Notes
 
Castor Oil:
It is not recommended to ingest Castor Oil, so I am a little leery of putting it on my lips. However, I do use it in this lip gloss because it is what provides the “glossy” effect. I do cut the Castor Oil in half from Jessie Hawkins recipe and have made the lip gloss without it at all and it turns out just fine though not so shiny.
Coconut Oil/Butter:
If you don’t have coconut oil or butter on hand, you can substitute olive oil or palm oil. For the coconut butter you could also substitute cocoa butter for a superrich feel.
Containers: 
I’m always searching for suitable containers and tend to use whatever I can get my hands on even if they are less than ideal – recycled Altoids tins, old lip balm tubes, empty and washed out medicine containers, half-pint mason jars, baby food containers… Today I actually used glass tea light holders that were just taking up space in my closet. They are actually the perfect size, but they don’t have a lid so I’ll be going high-tech and using aluminum foil. You can also purchase legit containers from supplies like SKS Packaging.

angela-1Angela is partner to Matt, foster mom to O and J, Truth-chaser, and education addict. She loves to play with words, workflow rules, herbs, and dirt. Angela lives in rural Illinois, where her family is part of an intentional Christian community. When she gets up the gumption, Angela blogs over at Leaping Greenly and hatch*.

Leave a Reply

