Health/Natural beauty Recipes / Wise Woman Wednesday

Use it Up, Wear it Out, Make it Do, or Do without: A Self Imposed No-Buy

by Angela

It’s that time of year again…the weather is turning warmer, five minutes outdoors and I smell like grass and sunshine, the lilacs are in full bloom, and I’m back to feeling like a hippie. I don’t exactly know what it is about spring that makes me feel like brewing kombucha tea, sprouting seeds, starting sourdough bread from wild yeast, and making my own _______ (fill that blank in with anything and I bet I want to make it), but it happens every year without fail. I suspect my brain chemistry has more than a little to do with this.

This spring my hippie aspirations happen to coincide with the fact that Matt and I are getting ready to dive into an experiment in simplicity. In two weeks we’re joining a religious order* in which the members share resources and participate in group decision making. Gone will be the days of my guilty little pleasures like Clinique facial products, Juicy Couture perfume, and lip gloss addiction. Until then, I figure I have two options: I can stock up on all of the bath and beauty “luxuries” that our new (very small) personal allowance won’t allow for or I can use up what I have and invoke a “No Buy.”  That’s the direction I’m choosing to go, not because I’m anxious to begin the frugality but because I’d rather spend my money on more important things. Like yarn.  And earrings.

The “No Buy” started Sunday, when I ran out of face wash. When I tossed the bottle in the bin I decided I’d make my next face wash. After doing some research, and encouraged by Christiana, I’ve decided to try to Oil Cleansing Method (or OCM). Basically, the Oil Cleansing Method is based on the principle that “like cures like” – so counterintuitive, but apparently oil works well to clean oil from your face! According to most of the recipes I’ve found, it seems that most consist of approximately one part castor oil to one part vegetable, seed, or nut oil (I’m using grapeseed). If you have dry skin you can decrease the castor oil to 2/3 other carrier oil, 1/3 castor oil. If you have oily skin you can use 2/3 castor oil, 1/3 other carrier oil.

Tonight’s the first night that I will be using the OCM. Here’s a picture of me tonight, before washing my face, with no makeup. I’ll keep you posted on this little experiment. For anyone brave who wants to try it with me – comment here and we can be a support group.

photo-58

*NOTE: You might wonder why someone would willingly do this. I’m honestly wondering that myself. However, there’s this: if you are looking for a great excuse to give telemarketers when they call asking if you want to buy a timeshare or life insurance, you can tell them “I’m sorry, I’m joining a religious order. I don’t make my own financial decisions and I’ve committed to radical simplicity.” Matt tried it the other night; worked like a charm.

Angela is partner to Matt, foster mom to O and J, Truth-chaser, and education addict. She loves to play with words, workflow rules, herbs, and dirt. Angela lives in rural Illinois, where her family is part of an intentional Christian community. When she gets up the gumption, Angela blogs over at Leaping Greenly and hatch*.

Leave a Reply

